top of page
  • Foto van schrijverMelissa Feenstra

I LOVE love

I think I have said it already a hundred times to at least a hundred different people: I love love. Yes, you read it right. I love love! Like – what is better then feeling loved or loving someone else?! Love is our breath. It’s the reason why we are alive. Without love nothing makes sense anymore. Without love everything is empty. Love is everything.


It fascinates me how loved I can feel from small gestures, like receiving flowers from someone. Or if someone wants to buy something for me. Or a small card with kind words. Or a thoughtful message. I notice how much I need it in my relationship. How much joy it gives me. It makes me so happy when I can do something for the other, but it also makes me so happy when I see that someone is willing to do the effort to make me feel loved.


Last Monday we were in the airplane, flying from Turkey to Germany. From Side to Istanbul we had a beautiful view, but immediately after we left Turkey, there were clouds, clouds and even more clouds. We desired to see lake Ballaton in Hungary, because Tibor used to go there on holiday. However it was pretty obvious that that wouldn’t happen this time, because of the clouds. And so we decided to go to sleep. I was laying on his lap, while he had put his head to the sides of the airplane. On a certain moment he woke up and he saw a bit of the land. Some clouds had disappeared! He watched and in all of a sudden he saw the contours of a lake. He grabbed his phone, went to check the GPS and he saw it was lake Ballaton! ‘Sweetie, sweetie!’ he said. ‘It is lake Ballaton!’ I immediately awoke and looked from the window. We both could see the contours of the beginning of the lake. We took some photos and we were so full of joy. After two minutes the clouds came back and we couldn’t see anything anymore untill the moment we arrived in Germany. But lake Ballaton? We have seen it. The only thing on the earth we saw from the moment we left Turkey.


We went back to sleep, but my eyes started to tear up. You want to know why? I felt so loved by God. He truly knows the desires of our hearts. Huge miracles are cool. It’s amazing if God is saving someones life by healing them from cancer. Or if He opens up deaf ears. I love it. But you know what – I love a miracle like this just as much. You know why? It was so not necessary. We would have survived if God would not have done it. We would not have been disappointed. There are way more important things in the world to be done. Like ending poverty. Saving people out of prostituion. Healing people from blindness. But God thought that in this moment this was important. He just cares about the smallest details and the smallest desires of our hearts. He is such a caring and personal God.


I don’t know what to do without the love of God. Everytime He loves me like this, I notice how my heart becomes softer and softer. How I feel cared for. How I feel seen by Him. And then I remember the cross. The ultimate proof of His love for us. If we don’t get the small signs, I remember the biggest sign we could have ever been given: God so loved the world, that He gave His only Son. And what else can I do then to respond with a heart full of gratitude and worship.

No matter what you have done, no matter where you have been, no matter where you are going through. Remember: God loves you. He sees you. He knows the desires of your heart. You are not forgotten. You are not alone. There is someone who burns with desire to know you. To hear your heart. To have a relationship with you. You are so loved.


Father, I thank You that You made me. I thank You that You know the desires of my heart. I thank You that You love me. I thank You that You bless me. I thank You that I can always trust you, no matter whether I see it or not. I thank You that we live by faith and not by sight, but that our faith will become sight. I Thank You that You see me. I thank You that I am never alone. And I thank You that I can have fellowship with You. Amen.

9 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Worship, intercession and speaking in tongues

Birthdays are a great moment to reflect on the last years and to look forward for what’s to come. Normally I would ask God questions about His plans for me. during this time. However somehow I have st

bottom of page